Obsession of the Week: Harry Potter

This week’s installment of obsession of the week is about Harry Potter.

When thinking about today’s segment, I first wanted to talk about BBC’s Sherlock, which I binge-watched over the last two weekends or John Green’s novels which I have been reading back-to-back the last month. However, since my ability to write is also based on the confidence I have in my knowledge of the topic, I didn’t feel quite as comfortable writing about these topics. So I chose a topic I’ll probably spend the rest of my life being passionate about: Harry Potter.

This weekend I was looking through my bookshelf in an attempt to get it organized. And of course I came across Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (my favorite book of the series). I told myself I would just read a few pages to see if I still liked it as much. Now I’m again more than halfway through the tale without the ability to stop before I finish.

I love the Harry Potter books. They hold a special place in my heart and will forever be my favorite books. I can say this with a decent amount of certainty not because I find the quality of writing to be exquisite and out of this world (even though I enjoy it a lot). It is because of The memories of the moments I spent as a child pretending to be a wizard, reading unofficial encyclopedias trying to find out what will happen in book 5 or working on my own Harry Potter websites as a 12-year old. They will always bring a smile to my face.

What fascinated me most about the series was the great amount of themes it covers. It is a coming-of-age novel set in one of the most imaginative worlds I have seen to date. Similar to the old Star Wars movies it is an epic tale of love conquering hate. Even in the darkest moments it has a message of positivity and hope. I believe this to be Harry Potter’s most powerful quality. Reading the books always left me with the feeling that in the end everything will turn out well. That if you believe in yourself and your friends; if you trust the wisdom of your elders while defying authority from time to time, you will succeed.

The Harry Potter series inspired me to get into creating content for the internet. I was eleven or twelve years old when my best friend and I created a makeshift Harry Potter fan website. Our plan was to let members take a test, sort them into houses and provide schooling in spells and arts to hand out points. It worked out well for a few months before we lost interest and moved on to making a website about gaming. We stopped working on that project when I moved to Germany. Now, a decade later, here I am again, writing about Harry Potter on the internet. It just shows how much of an inspiration the series was for me. And how I haven’t changed that much from when I was a kid!

I’ve always read the series in German as well as in English. The year 2007 was a big year for me. That February, I turned 18 and celebrated with a huge party; in June, I graduated from High School; in July, I started my mandatory military service which I completed in November. A lot of life-changing events happened to me that year. But one event I remember as clearly as the aforementioned milestones was the release of the German version “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows”. Standing in the bookshop at midnight with hundreds of other fans filled me with the dreaded sense that my childhood was drawing to a close. It felt as if a whole generation of kids was being pushed into independence and into a new phase of their lives. Harry, Ron and Hermione had taken me with them on their adventure and my own journey was about to begin in earnest.

As you have noticed, I haven’t written much about what happens in the books, but more about how the books had a profound influence on who I am today. Of course, there are many more books which have shaped my view of the worlds and in due time, I might also write about them. But none have had such a profound impact on me as the Harry Potter series.

I do not want to spoil anything. I believe anyone interested in reading or modern pop culture should read the Harry Potter series. I also love to discuss the books, so just let me know if you’d like to talk about them in further detail (even if you disagree with everything I just wrote!).

You can leave your thoughts in the comments section, by e-mail or on twitter @AlbertGubler. If you’d like to support me and my writing, please subscribe on the right hand side and share this blog with friends! Check back Friday for chapter 3 of my story “An elusive hero”.

Sincerely yours,

Albert

PS: If you want to connect with me on Pottermore, my username is KeySword174 and I’m in house Gryffindor!

3 thoughts on “Obsession of the Week: Harry Potter

  1. Pingback: 10 Things from Books I Wish Were Real | Storm In A B-Cup

  2. Pingback: A Halloween to Remember | An Elusive Hero

Leave a Reply

