Travel bucket list

I’ve been back in Switzerland for a week and am slowly settling back into daily life, meeting friends, enjoying the beautiful summer days and taking a lot of walks. With my summer holiday already in my rear view mirror, my eyes are firmly planted on the future and the new horizons to be sailed to. It will take a while until I’m going to be travel outside of Switzerland, but dreaming doesn’t cost anything, right?

So, let’s look at a few of the places on my bucket list:

Cologne, Germany

The German city plays host to the biggest gaming convention in Europe, the Gamecom, in the middle of August. After being at its predecessor in Leipzig as a teenager a few years ago and loving it, I am intrigued by the opportunity to see the newest games and consoles in the historic city closer to me. Cologne is also famous for its medieval cathedral and has an interesting Old Town to discover. But to be honest, I don’t know how much of the town I’ll be able to see if the sights and sounds of the convention distract me.

London, England

I’d love to travel to London to watch an Arsenal game, as I’ve written before and I’m positive I’ll manage to go during this Premier League season. But the Emirates is not the only place I’m keen on seeing, I’d love to explore the city and its countless museums now that I’m a little bit older. Not unlike New York, this city is constantly evolving and new shops, pubs and restaurants are waiting to be discovered. Speaking exclusively English for a weekend would definitely be a welcome distraction during the busy school year.

France & Belgium

I’m turning 25 next year which marks the last year I’m eligible for the steep youth discount on Interrail passes. The pass, which allows you to travel across many European countries for a flat rate (excl. reservations) is a great and traditional way for young people from around the world to see Europe. I’ve taken an extensive train trip to some of the Scandinavian capitals, and next on my list would be a trip through the north of France and Belgium. Medieval castles and towns have fascinated me since visiting various Swiss keeps as a young boy. A trip through the French-speaking countries would definitely have its fair share of culture, history and exquisite cuisine.

The West Coast, USA

Moving on to a more long-term outlook, the US is a country that has fascinated me for a long time. My recent visit to New York has only affirmed my wish to see more of the massive country across the Atlantic. The West Coast is a region I’ve never seen before, with a couple of cities capturing my attention. Of course, Los Angeles with its sprawling highways, beautiful beaches and Hollywood lifestyle is atop the list. But since I can’t drive, I don’t if I’d feel so comfortable in the metropolis. Relatives and friends alike have recommended also the city of San Francisco to me. Since I enjoy walking over bridges I’d love to use the famous Golden Gate Bridge to enjoy the view of the Pacific Ocean up-close. Travelling up and down the coast would be fantastic as well, just to discover smaller American towns after spending so much time in the country’s biggest city.

The Philippines

Not to be excluded from this list is my birth country, the beautiful Philippines. I haven’t visited the Islands in 14 months and obviously, the time to go back home once more will arrive rather sooner than later. I can only recommend the Philippines to anyone travelling to the South East Asia. Manila is a great city to spend a few days discovering remnants of the Spanish colonizers, walking through the newish planned districts and for great night outs. Boracay is the entire rage when looking for parties and Palawan is the beach resort for diving and relaxing. With over 7’000 islands to choose from, I’m sure anyone will be able to find the white-sanded beach of his or her choice. But beaches are not everything the country has to offer, with the famous rice terraces of Banaue, chocolate hills of Bohol and the island volcano on Lake Taal waiting to be discovered. Thinking about it, I’m looking more and more forward to my next trip back to my second home.

Kawayan Cove

Photo: Mirella Haldimann

As you can see, my travel bucket list is quite extensive. I don’t know when and if I’ll be able to fulfill my wishes in the near future. But they still remain part of my dreams and aspirations. What’s on your bucket list? Where would you like to go next?

This post wraps up my two-week series focused on NYC and travelling, and we’re back to the diverse topics of my regular schedule on Monday. Please also get the word out by liking, sharing and subscribing!

Have a great weekend.
Sincerely yours,

Albert

Leave a Reply

