The Joy of going to the Cinema

I’ve written in-depth blog posts about books and video games a few times in this spot, so it’s time to take a look at the next fantastic form of entertainment: Movies and more specifically, watching them in a cinema. Summer is a weird time for movie fans. On the one hand, Hollywood normally goes all-in and releases their summer blockbusters with gigantic marketing budgets and a whole lot of name recognition. On the other hand, the weather outside is so beautiful that sitting in a dark room staring at an admittedly large screen doesn’t seem so attractive. With clouds making their first appearance in Switzerland after two weeks of clear sky, my friends and I took the opportunity to watch the heist movie “Now You See Me”.

I’m glad to say the quality of the movie experience in Switzerland has improved in the last few years, with ticket prices becoming slightly more affordable. Watching the well thought out illusions and tricks the magicians / bank robbers pulled off in the film on the big screen, made think about my appreciation of seeing movies at the cinema. The atmosphere of the surroundings is an important part of how I perceive and rate a movie after seeing it.

Star Wars – Episode 1 in 3D didn’t suddenly turn JarJar Binks into a less annoying character, but the big screen brought Anakin’s race to a whole new level compared to watching it on TV. With the special effects becoming more spectacular and complex with every passing year, movie theaters still are the best stages for movies to work their magic. The spectacular superhero movies, some of which I loved (Avengers, Iron Man, Batman by Nolan) and some of which I found rather poor (Man of Steel, Toby Maguire’s Spiderman), are still best viewed in the darkness of movie theaters including their bombastic sound environments.

Of course, it is not only the technical advantage which make going to the cinema one of my favorite pastimes. The habit of getting friends together, ready to see what kind of story the director and writers have planned out and how the actors will bring their characters to life, already gives the build-up to the movie a sense of excitement and wonder. And then, as soon as I’m sitting in my comfortable (depending on the theater) seat, the ad and previews commence. The trailers are one of the most important part of my cinema experience. They get me into the right mind set and show me a glimpse of what’s yet to come. It also signals the time to turn off your cellphone, making the cinema one of the only places nowadays where people actually are disconnected for 90 – 120 minutes. After the movie ends, it continues with discussions about the movie, especially if it was either spectacular or spectacularly bad and looking up actors and actresses on IMDB, making the movie stick with me for longer. I still remember the worst movie I saw in the cinema, while I couldn’t say which one was the worst I’ve seen on TV.

Unfortunately, living in a small country with a tiny movie market also means some of the smaller independent movies don’t make it here. Mostly this concerns coming-of-age movies or dramedys, which are loved by critics at Sundance. However, these films also transfer best to the small screen and are not the movies most of my friends enjoy. So I guess I can just wait for the DVD or iTunes release. Four of the top five movies I’m most looking forward to this year belong in this category: Don Jon, Joseph Gorden-Levitts directional debut; Short Term 12, with the stunning Brie Larson as the lead; The Way Way Back and The Spectacular Now, two coming-of-age films capturing the imagery I enjoy so much best. The only blockbuster I’m still waiting to come out is Thor 2, which will hopefully add another entertaining milestone to the Avengers movie universe.

How about you? Do you prefer watching movies at home or at the movies? Which movies are looking forward to? Let me know in the comments and don’t forget to like, subscribe and share!

Sincerely yours,
Albert

One thought on “The Joy of going to the Cinema

  1. Pingback: Watch Full Movies Online: A Great Escape from the Mundane Daily Routine! | Arts & Entertainment Articles

Leave a Reply

