The Editing Process and “Wonderbook”

Like I said last week, my story is on hiatus until October 25. So if you haven’t read it yet, head over to “An Elusive Hero” and start catching up.

I’m in the process of editing and revising parts of it, making it more concise and the language more precise. Hopefully, I’ll be able to release an updated and improved version of the first 20 chapters for everyone who wants to catch up.

“An Elusive Hero” now spans 20 chapters, almost 60 pages and 20’778 words, which is the most I’ve ever written (on my own) for one whole, consecutive story. They have all been written in the last five months and I hope to make even more progress during the upcoming NaNoWriMo.

I’m revising the story on my own for now, but obviously am always happy for suggestions and feedback from others on how to improve it. My biggest help in the editing process has been a book by Jeff Vandermeer titled Wonderbook, an illustrated guide to creative imaginative fiction. It’s beautifully put together and written, and full of tips also specific to the genre I’m currently writing on.

2013-10-11 18.04.19

 

 

I’ve learned a ton about writing process and story structure. Hopefully I’ll be able to incorporate my improvements in the next chapters. I can only recommend the book to anyone interested in writing.

Besides editing my story, I’m working on a few exciting other projects. One of them is not ready to be talked about. But we’re very close to launch and we’ve started working on the content, so I’m really happy about we’re developing. Stay tuned!

Well, that’s all from me for today, more of an update post. Please catch up on “An Elusive Hero” and be ready for the story’s return on October 25!

Like, Share and Subscribe for eternal gratitude. Have a fantastic weekend!

Sincerely yours,
Albert

One thought on “The Editing Process and “Wonderbook”

Leave a Reply

