My favorite Books of 2013

As 2013 draws to an end, it is time to look back at the year. So starting today and in the next few weeks, I’ll talk about my favorite books (today), movies (next week) and video games (in two weeks) of the year just before Christmas comes around.

I read a lot of brilliant books this year and not all of them were published in 2013. The majority of this post will cover the 2013 releases, but I’ll also mention some of the great books which I read for the first time this year.

Let’s start with my favorite book of 2013, “The Beginning of Everything” by Robyn Schneider. I wrote a lot about this book in this post and not much has changed since then. The coming-of-age story features a great main character, infinitely relatable problems, a wonderful supporting cast and the very special Cassidy Thorpe.

In the same post linked above I mentioned “Night Film” by Marisha Pessl, which is breathtaking and spectacular. It’s a book that pulls you in and refuses to let you go. The Cordova family and their story is expertly constructed and endlessly fascinating. For any fans of well-written thrillers, this is a must read.

Neil Gaiman and Patrick Ness, who are two of the most imaginative writers out there, both released new novels this year and I immensely enjoyed both of them. “An Ocean at the End of the Lane” by Mr. Gaiman is a fascinating tale about memory and imagination, whereas Mr. Ness creates a suspenseful story centered around reality and second chances in “More Than This” .

And among the many dystopian YA novels coming out on the heels of the Hunger Games trilogy, “The 5th Wave” by Rick Yancey stood out. Earth has been overrun by an alien race decimating humans in waves. The story is told from the perspective of Cassie, a teenage girl fighting for survival in the ravished world. It’s fast-paced and inventive with sequels sure to follow.

These were just my favorite books that were published in 2013. As I made reading books a priority this year, I was able to read a whole bunch of other outstanding stories this year.

Monsters of Men” and the whole Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness, which I wrote about in this post, were probably the books I enjoyed the most this year. The story of Todd and Viola is beautifully told, masterfully constructed and extremely intense.

2013 was also the year I discovered John Green and his excellent “The Fault in Our Stars” is a heartbreaking and beautiful story. It also shows an immense development from his earlier books, which seemed to follow the same formula at times. (I still enjoyed them a lot)

Among fantasy books, “The Name of the Wind” by Patrick Rothfuss was a spectacular read. The main character Kvothe has everything one looks for in a hero: wits, strength and the right touch of arrogance. I’m looking forward to getting to the sequel soon and very excited for the third tome of the Kingkiller Chronicle to arrive next year.

I didn’t read that much Science Fiction this year, but “Ready Player One” by Ernest Cline was funny, imaginative and full of pop culture references I adore.

This year I focused a lot on fiction books, so I didn’t get to read that much non-fiction. However, the book I enjoyed most was “My Life”, the extremely long, but ultimately rewarding autobiography of Bill Clinton published in 2004.

All in all 2013 was a fantastic year in reading for me as I had the pleasure to discover the works of Patrick Ness, Neil Gaiman, John Green, Veronica Roth and Suzanne Collins. They all took me on a journey to wonderful sights and allowed me to connect with inspiring characters, fascinating tales and classy writing.

What were your favorite books of the year? Which books are on your Christmas shopping list and what are you looking out for in 2014? Let me know in the comments or on Twitter!

Sincerely yours,

Albert

5 thoughts on “My favorite Books of 2013

  1. You’ve mentioned quite some books that are on my favourite-list, too.

    However, a book that I would never have expected to ever show up on any or my favourite lists is The Great Gatsby. I read it years ago as a teenager and I didn’t get it. I thought it was bland and boring and had nothing to offer. When the movie came out, I decided to give it another go.

    And I really, really enjoyed it. The ennui of the rich, Gatsby’s almost desperate cry to create something that his one true love must enjoy while feeling empty inside, his longing… it’s just a very nice, very short read.

    • Hi!

      Thank you for your comment. I read the Great Gatsby a few years ago and remembered liking it a lot. I think I enjoyed his book “This Side of Paradise” more , but I probably should give Gatsby another try!

  2. Pingback: My Favorite Movies of 2013 | An Elusive Hero

  3. Pingback: My Favorite Video Games of 2013 | An Elusive Hero

  4. Pingback: Vlog #1: The Beginning of Everything | An Elusive Hero

Leave a Reply

